Memorial/Spring Branch Roads & Traffic

On Grisby road, a street that intersects the BP energy enter with addicks howell in west houston (memorial west), there is a large vacant lot which sits on grisby and ends at the feeder road. a few days ago a sign was placed out in front entitled "notice of variance" I was wondering if anyone on the board knew anything of the matter.

Tomorrow at 2:30 in the 900 Bagby building is when the hearing is going to be held regarding the property. I am likely to attend but did not know what to expect or if there have been any leads to future freeway construction concerning this area. Since a new post office (built in 1998) sits on the property already, I would find it difficult to assume that it would be to extend the freeway but I may be wrong. I am a resident of a nearby community so I would like to know what is to become of the vacant lot.

Hopefully you know more about variances that I do. Thanks.

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well if you speaking of that strip of land I'm thinking of, I believe BP recently purchased what I assume to be all 40 acres of it.

They are putting a temporary parking lot there which s/be completed in September I believe.

I read on the going up section that they plan to extend memorial drive to barker cypress. is this true? I heard something before about making memorial, briar forest-san felipe, and westheimer into super streets (meaning that they would become toll roads). I believe nothing came of the idea, but is any of this true?

...also does someone know where I can check the avg housing appreciation rate of the memorial area (77024 and 77079) besides for calculating the numbers on HCAD and har.com? is there a site which measures the appreciation rate of areas in Houston?

Thanks.