online career question, concerning H-town and other Texan cities

I have more than 3 years of experience in web design, and once I got here I immediately secured a non-web job while building up my portfolio. Recently I started looking for web design/Flash related jobs in Houston via Craigslist, Google, and independent job boards. But I kept getting results from Austin and North Dallas. I did get results from Houston..but they were primarily limited to work-at-home SEO (Search Engine Optimization) jobs, whereas in North Dallas I found actual companies like Blockdot.com, Netsuccess.com.

I am NOT bashing Houston's local web design industry, but I am curious why there are more dot-coms in other cities like Austin and Dallas. This is what I want to do..I want to finish my education at U of H and find a job (if it's entry-level that's OK) at a dot-com that will offer a variety of work experiences for me. In my former city I worked at a dot-com as a production artist. I doing the tedious work of editing images for the developers, but on the flipside I was learning CSS and other skills of the trade. When I moved to Houston I thought it would be possible to pick up where I had left off, but it's becoming a challenge because I've searched through Craigslist, Hotjobs, Monster.com and Jobing.com with no concrete results.

Can anyone recommend company directories (online or print) for Houstonians skilled in interactive design? I wouldn't mind telecommuting with dot-coms outside of H-town but I would prefer to stay here.

Thanks!