Central Bank Buildings

jdbaker

I was wondering if something was happening to that Days Inn building because they have boarded up alot of the windows. I guess that is a product of compliance with the building code.

I really don't understand the cities take on these building. When pressed on the issue, the mayor's office insists that these building are structurally sound, and thus nothing can be done. Yet, everyday I drive by the old Savoy (the 1910 portion) and see daylight shining through as a result of a collapsed roof. Further, the cracks in the upper portions of the outer walls continue to widen. I'm no engineer, but to me it seems painfully obvious that at least one of these building is no longer structurally sound.

I would absolutely love for something to be done with this structure. However, I'm not awaiting any modifications with baited breath. This case is a prime example that the city should be doing to constructively encourage development that spurs further thoughtful development. (Tax breaks and insightful planning anyone?)

How many years has this property been vacant? Obviously, Houston had to bounce back from the mid 80s slump, but prime real estate (?) shouldn't sit unimproved for this long. Let's hope that this thing turns around! And then for God's sake please someone redevelop the old Holiday Inn site. That's a damn shame in a nutshell. I betcha' if that property were in Dallas or Atlanta a developer would've already done something cool with it... No kidding. WAKE UP HOUSTON!!!!

I was quite disappointed in the report as well.

To me, all it really did was point out the abandoned buildings (which if you lived/worked anywhere close to downtown you knew about) and provided little other information.

Then again, I think that was pretty much the entire point of the report: "See? we have buildings here. They're still here. They might be here for the foreseeable future."

• 5 months later...