Happy New Year's!

tw2ntyse7en

I'm new to Houston, so you veterans are going to have to let me know what there is to do on New Year's Eve. I've been invited to this Forbidden Cities Party: FBC NYE Party downtown in Sam Houston Park. Anyone know if I'll be able to see any fireworks from there? What are the standard big parties thrown here? Is there any street action like NO, NYC or LV? Let me know where to go, when to be there and what to expect. Thanks!

I don't know anything about any big public fireworks displays in Houston for New Year's. Traditionally I don't think we've really had any, although I might be wrong. I do know there are big parties at several places downtown, including the one you mentioned in the park, as well as at the Hyatt and Hilton Hotels. The Hyatt party used to be the really big one but I'm sure the Hilton will be trying to out-do them this year.

As for me, I think I'll be staying home alone, watching movies, eating pizza. Sadly that's all the budget allows this year. Either that or going with my best friend to his sister's house but it's all the way up in Atascocita and I'm just not sure I want to deal with driving up there. Oh well. New Year's Eve has not been a big party holiday for me since I graduated high school anyway.

• 11 months later...
what star?

Funny you should mention that!

This morning, good ol' Channel 2 news reported on their 6am newscast that the only public celebration in Houston would be the lowering of a star at the Binz Building "Located at Main Street and Prescott (sic), downtown."

So I called Channel 2, and let them know that the street's name is actually Preston. Not Prescott. They thanked me.

At eleven, the story was repeated, but this time with a different anchor (Linda Lorelle). Again, "Main and Prescott, downtown."

:wacko: