Moving without a definite plan

IronTiger

Never thought I'd post in this board, but...

I graduated from college almost a year ago, and I'm still stuck in College Station with a near minimum-wage job. I've managed to get interviewed in Houston no less than four times, and all have been busts so far. So, with the meager ownings saved up from miscellaneous years, I'm considering just moving there to live in a larger area with the classical "leave home to seek fortunes" plan. I already have an idea of where I'm moving, it's just I have no idea if it's any better than what I've got now. I basically feel like I'm out of options, and my job here (and other prospects) is going nowhere. What do you guys think? Is it worth it?

I did the same thing straight out of college.  New degree, no job, no interviews.  Just packed up the car and drove from Waco to Atlanta.  I had a few thousand in the bank and some friends who were finishing up at Georgia Tech and needed a roommate.  Spent a couple of months kicking around town til I found a job and the rest is history.  If you're young and single, now's the time to do it.  Later on you'll have kids and a mortgage and just picking up and moving will seem like crazy talk.

What is your degree in?  There are a lot of people with varied backgrounds/jobs on this forum - you never know who might have an opening or know someone...

With regards to your question - if you're not making progress in College Station then it's time for a change....as others have said, do it now before you have lots of responsibilities...

Best of luck !!

Get out of college station. There are plenty of min wage jobs here you can land in the meantime. A lot of places won't hire people from a dif city since they're worried they'll flake out, start date will be delayed, or want relocation help. Tell people you already live here and your job prospects will improve greatly.