Model of Downtown, Houston

Hello my friends! I'm Rudy, the one who posted about the BriarLake Plaza model that I obtained about 5 months ago. I wrote about my interest in architecture since I was around 12-years-old, and constructed model buildings since that time.

I wanted to post some images of a project I've been working on for about 8 months, and that is a quick mass, study model of downtown, Houston! I've used nothing but 110 lb cardstock, and simple modeling greenery when it comes to the grass, bushes, and trees. I will be working on the northeastern section of downtown soon where Minute Maid Park resides.

You will see where I detailed Sam Houston Park on the west side. Just simple small "houses" and church along the pathways. I detailed Discovery Green to a similar layout to the actual design.

I have not built this to an accurate scale as far as measurement goes. I just go by skyline images showing the heights of the buildings to one another. This model started out with the Wells Fargo Plaza, so after that was done, I went from there to build the other surrounding buildings. Before I knew it, I was looking at Google/Bing maps to see aerial images of the roofs to get an idea of the overall shape of the building. Toyota Center was fun to make!

I went as far as making the Capitol Tower (which hasn't even began construction) and placing it in its proper spot. That is in an individual picture so it can be seen better.

I hope you like this model, and enjoy looking at the photographs. I will post more when newer additions are made.